If your screen doesn't turn on—even after trying all the initial troubleshooting steps—perform a factory reset of your phone from Fastboot Mode. Here you'll see what appears to be the under-the-hood workings of Android (and that's because it is).

Performing a factory reset will erase your device. If you've made a backup, you can restore your information after resetting your phone. 

Not sure if you've made a backup? Sign into your Google Drive on the web using the same Google Account as you did on your phone, then select Backups on the left. If you don't see a backup, then there's nothing to restore. But the good news is that Google automatically saves things like email, contacts, calendar, notes, and more. And if you use Google Photos for your photos and videos, they're automatically saved, too.

Enter Fastboot Mode

  1. Press and hold the Power and Volume-Down buttons.
  2. When you see the Essential logo on the screen, or you feel the phone vibrate, release the Power button (but keep holding the Volume-Down button).
  3. Release the Volume-Down button when Fastboot Mode appears.

Reset from Fastboot Mode

  1. In Fastboot Mode, press either of the Volume buttons to cycle through the options until Recovery mode appears.
  2. Press the Power button to enter Recovery mode.

When your phone reboots, you should see a little Android lying down with a red warning icon and the words "No Command" (don't stress, this is good). Get your nimble fingers ready—this will take some quick pressing.

  1. Press and hold the Power button, then immediately press the Volume-Up button.
  2. Release both buttons. You should see a brand new view you've never seen before. This is Recovery mode.
  3. Press the Volume buttons to cycle to the option Wipe data/factory reset.
  4. Press the Power button to factory reset your phone.